Is onion an herb?

The definition of an herb: any plant with leaves, seeds, or flowers used for flavoring, food, medicine or perfume. So onions qualify as an herb! Onions are in the allium family along with chives, garlic, shallots, scallion, and leeks.

---

Onions are one of the most common culinary herbs. An herb can be any plant with leaves, flowers, or seeds that are used for flavoring, scent, or medicine.