What are the difference between fruits and vegetables?

Fruits are parts of plants with, or wrapped around, seeds. Vegetables are any other edible plant part. That said, marketing conventions can overlook these botanical considerations. The tomato, for example, is botanically a fruit (it has seeds) but is almost exclusively sold as a vegetable.