Are neanderthals human?

Yes. Neanderthals were a fully human species that lived in both Europe and Asia for hundreds of thousands of years. When modern humans encountered them in Europe millennia ago, they not only lived side by side, but interbred with each other. You have a few percent Neanderthal DNA in you.