How to remove electrical tape for wires?

First soak a disposable rag with WD40. Then apply lubricant to the wires with the rag. Let the wire sit for at least 5 minutes. Complete removal of the residue by wiping the wires with the rag until the adhesive gives way. Wash wire with soapy water and let dry.