Who wrote the original song you raise me up?

Rolf Lovland of Norwegian-Irish duo Secret Garden wrote You Raise Me Up in 2001. Josh Groban covered the song in 2003. However, a judge overturned a copyright lawsuit. Interestingly, Icelandic songwriter Johann Helgason claimed Lovland’s song was based off his 1977 composition of Soknudur.