What makes spicy food spicy?

There's an active ingredient in spicy food called capsaicin. It binds to a special class of receptor inside our mouth called VR1 receptors. After capsaicin binds to these receptors, the sensory neuron is depolarized, and it sends along a signal indicating the presence of spicy stimuli.