Do almonds grow in a shell?

The shell of an almond resembles a peach pit, as they’re closely related. And inside the shell is the seed, which is the part that we eat.

---

Almonds are actually the pit or seed of a fruit that looks a little bit like a peach. They grow on trees and in order to get the almond out, you have to split the hard pit open.