What was andrew johnson impeached for?

The impeachment of President Andrew Johnson was the result of political conflict and the rupture of ideologies in the aftermath of the American Civil War on President Lincoln's plan of Reconstruction. Johnson supported the plan that called for lenient readmission of Southern States.

---

The primary charge against Andrew Johnson in 1868 was violation of the Tenure of Office Act. Specifically, he had removed from office Edwin M. Stanton, the Secretary of War, whom the Act was largely designed to protect, and attempted to replace him with Brevet Major General Lorenzo Thomas.