What was andrew johnson impeached for?

The primary charge against Andrew Johnson in 1868 was violation of the Tenure of Office Act. Specifically, he had removed from office Edwin M. Stanton, the Secretary of War, whom the Act was largely designed to protect, and attempted to replace him with Brevet Major General Lorenzo Thomas.