What is the origin of barbecue sauce?

It is believed that barbecue sauce was first invented in a Dominican missionary in the 17th Century where cooks used lime juice & pepper to flavor meat for the barbecue. We can trace the root of this recipe to Africa where they use both lime & lemon juices as a traditional method of flavoring meat.