Who invented the water bottle?

The creation of the plastic water bottle used today is widely credited to Nathaniel Wyeth, a DuPont engineer. He patented Polyethylene terephthalate (PET) bottles, the first plastic bottle to be able to withstand the pressure of carbonated liquids.