What's the safest way to defrost a turkey?

The safest way is to thaw in the Refrigerator. Allow approximately 24 hours for every 5 pounds of turkey. You can also thaw in Cold Water. Allow approximately 30 minutes for every pound of turkey and keep a close eye on the water level and the meat.