What type of planet is pluto?

Pluto is a dwarf planet. In 2006, planets were formally defined and Pluto did not meet all the criteria. Instead, Pluto is now classified as a dwarf planet.

---

Pluto is no longer a planet. The 2006 definition of planet defined Pluto not as planet, but as dwarf planet, because it have not cleared its neighbourhood. Pluto (unlike all other planets in our Solar system) does not orbit the Sun alone, but as part of a population of similarly sized objects.

---

Pluto is no longer a planet, it was changed to a dwarf planet in 2006.