What was the battle of yorktown?

Yorktown was the de facto end of the Revolutionary War. Lord Cornwallis had marched his forces to Yorktown in anticipation of being rescued by the British Navy. But Washington surrounded Yorktown, the French Fleet kept the British Navy at bay and Cornwallis surrendered his troops.