How long will it take to fall to the center of the earth?

A scenario often presented to introductory physics classes is that of a gravity tunnel a tube drilled from one side of the Earth to the other through the planet's center. The answer taught for half-century of how long a fall through such a hole would take was about 42 minutes and 12 seconds.