What happened on march eleventh two thousand eleven?

On 11 March 2011, Japan was struck by one of the most powerful earthquakes on record. The quake caused a giant wave out at sea, called a tsunami, which grew to 10 metres high. Half an hour after the quake, the tsunami hit the North East coast of Japan, destroying everything in its path.