What is close but no cigar mean?

It means you're in 2nd place (or you're almost right), so no prize (such as a cigar) for you. In other words, if the cigar was a prize for the winner, and you came in 2nd place or you were almost but not completely correct, then you wouldn't be awarded the prize.