Who made the first light beer?

Miller Lite was the first successful mainstream light beer in the United States market. After its first inception as Gablinger's Diet Beer, developed in 1967 by Joseph Owades, PhD, a biochemist working for New York's Rheingold Brewery, the recipe was given by Owades to Chicago's Peter Hand Brewing.