Why do they call it going commando?

Wearing sweaty, dirty underwear for days on end makes everything tougher, warriors know that it may be awhile before they bathe and clean clothes. The term going commando arose after the Vietnam war, where because of the heat and humidity, the practice of not wearing underwear became common.