What were the first colonies in the united states?

The original 13 colonies in what would become the United States were: Virginia, Massachusetts Bay, Delaware, New York, Pennsylvania, Georgia, New Jersey, Connecticut, South Carolina, North Carolina, Maryland, Rhode Island and Providence Plantation, and New Hampshire.