What was the berlin airlift?

The Berlin Airlift (Jun 24, 1948 – May 12, 1949) could be called the first battle of the Cold War. It was when western countries delivered much needed food and supplies to the city of Berlin through the air because all other routes were blocked by the Soviet Union.

---

It was a military operation in 1948-49 to bring food, fuel and other goods into West Berlin from Allied airbases in western Germany after the government of East Germany cut off its supply routes. Allies made nearly 300,000 flights and carried 2.3 million tons of cargo over the course of the airlift.