What was the berlin airlift?

It was a military operation in 1948-49 to bring food, fuel and other goods into West Berlin from Allied airbases in western Germany after the government of East Germany cut off its supply routes. Allies made nearly 300,000 flights and carried 2.3 million tons of cargo over the course of the airlift.