Why do tomatoes turn red?

Tomatoes use two chemical compounds for photosynthesis: chlorophyll, which has a green pigment, and lycopene - which has a red pigment. Young tomatoes have much more chlorophyll than lycopene, but as a tomato ripens, the chlorophyll dissolves, and the lycopene becomes more prominent.