Who invented the mobile phone in nineteen seventeen?

A Finnish inventor named Eric Tigerstedt applied for a patent of a pocket sized version of the telephone in 1917. This however was not a “mobile” phone in the sense we think of it today, as it relied on a connection to a land line to work.