Tell me about the history of montana?

The discovery of gold brought many prospectors into the area in the 1860s, and Montana became a territory in 1864. ... During the 1880s railroads crossed Montana, and the territory became a state in 1889.Hardrock mining also began at this time.Butte became famous when silver & copper were discovered