What do horseflies do?

Female horse-flies bite animals, including humans, to get blood.

---

They often fly around stock on farms and ranches. They often bite more than the stock. A horsefly bit is not only irritating but at times be quite painful. That is why you see horses and cows switching their tails so often. They are trying to keep from being bothered by the horseflies.