Can water get stale?

Water doesn't stale, but it can get stagnant, from prolonged exposure to bacteria. In which case it becomes not fit for consumption.

---

Pure water will not. However, drinking water contains minerals and oxygen suspended in it. Given enough time, the oxygen can dissipate and the minerals fall out of suspension, altering the flavor. This is what people mean when they say water is stale.