Do beta fish fight?

Two male betta fish should not be kept together because they will fight. A male betta fish may be safely kept with two or three female betta fish.

---

Male bettas are territorial and will fight one another. They can fight to the death. Bettas may also be aggressive toward other fish with bright colors and long fins that could be mistaken for a male betta.