What is a family matter?

Family matter means any cause, matter or legal proceeding arising out of any written or other law and connected with a matrimonial, familial or other domestic relationship.

---

A family matter is any issue that a family might have that they want to keep private from everybody that is not their family. For instance, an unexpected pregnancy might be kept secret for as long as possible. It would be considered a family matter.