Where did the saying cup of joe come from?

Possibly a shortening of "cup of jamoke", from java + mocha: this origin was given in a military officer's manual from 1931, around when the term first appeared. Alternatively, perhaps a use of joe (“fellow, guy”), signifying that coffee was the drink of the common man.