What is a chemical suffix?

A chemical suffix is a word suffix put on the end of names used to name chemicals. Most common chemical suffix is "ium" for Sodium, Calcium, or Potassium, etc. It is thought there are far more chemicals and chemical combinations than there are grains of sand on earth.