Why is rock paper scissors called rochambeau?

Per the World Rock Paper Scissors Association this question is quite complex. In some legends the term Roshambo dates back to the Comte de Rochambeau, a French nobleman who fought during the Revolutionary War. However the first known use was in a 1936 book called The Handbook for Recreation Leaders