What does the name bugs mean?

Bugs is a colloqual nickname for a worker or hired person. According to fandom.com: Bugs Bunny is an animated cartoon character, best known for his starring roles in the Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies series of theatrical short films produced by Warner Bros.