How long does it take to get around the earth?

The fastest trip around the world was a 52 hour, 34 minute flight by Krisinda Merhi. Sailors typically travel the world in 3 to 5 years, but a trimaran can make the trip in 40 days. Reporter Nellie Bly famously traveled the world in 72 days, beating Jules Verne's "around the world in 80 days."