Why is dirt brown?

Dirt is not always brown but can be found in different colors. These colors are affected by the composition of the dirt, like the amount of water,organic material and the concentration of various minerals like Manganese oxide, Manganese oxide , etc

---

The generally brownish color of soil is a function of the oxidation of iron.