Why is watermelon a fruit?

If you talk to a botanist, they'll maintain that watermelon is a fruit because it develops from the plant's ovary after flowering and holds the seeds. A vegetable is anything eaten from other parts of a plant, like spinach leaves or carrots (which are roots).