What is american idol?

Amercan Idol is a singing competition where the winner gets a record contract after competing against others in different singing challenges.

---

According to Wikipedia, American Idol is an American television program in which singers compete. The program has run since 2002, with a two-year hiatus in from 2016 to 2018.