Who wrote oak -ristmas tree?

The composer of the German Christmas carol O Tannenbaum (1550) is unknown. The melody is an old folk song. The best-known version was written by German organist and teacher Ernst Anschutz, in 1824. It was translated into English soon thereafter, as O Christmas Tree.