Can you substitute an onion for a shallot?

When swapping, make sure to measure with already-chopped onions. Once chopped, you can substitute with a 1 is to 1 ratio of shallots to onions, but if a recipe calls for more than half cup of shallots, slow your roll. That means the shallots are important, and this is not a time to play with onions.