Why do people moan?

People moan to express agony or ecstasy. It is a form of nonverbal communication, expulsion of air with throat and chest vibration, that may in itself help comfort or relieve pain, or alternately heighten pleasure, elicit sympathy, or relay appreciation. This is similar to the reasons cats purr.