How do you know if a boiled egg is ready?

Boiled eggs are cooked by time. When the egg is dropped into boiling water start the timer. Three to four minutes for a soft boil. Six to nine minutes for a hard boil. Experiment a bit to find the doneness you like. If making deviled eggs ten minutes makes the yoke dry and ready for dressing.