What is hasselback chicken?

Hasselback is a term derived from a Swedish style of cooking. It refers to a food like a potato being cut into thin slices but not all the way through before cooking. In Hasselback Chicken, slices of ham and cheese are tucked between the slices of chicken breast meat.