What is the blue on the american flag stand for?

There was never any official meaning for any of the colors on the flag. However, Charles Thomson, who was Secretary of the US Continental Congress, said that "white signifies purity and innocence, red, hardiness and valour, and blue signifies vigilance, perseverance, and justice".