What happened to shorty on iron resurrection?

Family circumstances seem to be the reason why Shorty decided to leave. No indication that he was fired or parted with Martin Bros and the show on bad terms. Shorty is a new grandfather now and will now only focus on his business in Dallas, giving himself more quality time with his family.