Why do dogs sniff each other?

This is their handshake. They smell each other. They can smell what they had to eat.

---

When a dog smells another dog's butt, it's actually collecting a bunch of information about the other dog, its diet, its gender, its emotional state, and so on. Think of it kind of like speaking with chemicals. this butt sniffing is just one of many examples of chemical communication.