What country has square watermelons?

Cube watermelons are common in Japan. The shape comes from the watermelon being grown in a box.

---

The idea of growing square watermelons began in Japan. Japanese farmers needed to find a way to work out the issue of traditionally round watermelons being too awkward by rolling around or taking up too much space in the refrigerator.