How do flies help the environment?

Flies eat rotting materials, as well as lay their eggs on them, which hatch into maggots. Maggots rapidly break down and eat rotting material. Flies also serve as a common food source for larger animals, serving as a method of converting rotting material most animals cannot eat into edible flies.