What is a convertible sofa?

A convertible sofa converts from a multi-seat upholstered unit to a bed, sometimes called a hide-a-bed or sleeper sofa. Can be full or queen sized, depending on the width of the sofa, or can be single-width if the original piece of furniture is a chair instead of a sofa.