What's an average marathon time?

The average marathon time is roughly 4 and a half hours (10 minutes and 19 seconds per mile pace)

---

Most people finish a marathon in 4 to 5 hours, with an average mile time of 9 to 11.5 minutes. A finishing time that's under 4 hours is a real accomplishment for everyone other than elite runners, who can finish in around 2 hours.