Why is kentucky a commonwealth state?

When used to refer to U.S. states, there is no difference between a 'state' and a 'commonwealth'. The distinction is in name alone. The preference is believed to have existed perhaps because there was "some anti-monarchial sentiment in using the word commonwealth."