What year did alaska become a territory?

The Territory of Alaska, or Alaska Territory, was an organized incorporated territory of the United States from August 24, 1912 until Alaska was granted statehood on January 3, 1959. The territory was previously the Department of Alaska from 1868–1884; and the District of Alaska from 1884–1912.