What's an apple pie filling?

A simple apple pie filling is made from sliced apples, a thickener such as flour, sugar, and usually butter. Depending on the recipe other fruit such as pears or dried fruit such as cranberries can be added along with things like cinnamon, nuts, or oatmeal.